Lab Results: bad liver

For recovery discussion

Lab Results: bad liver

Postby ksross » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:06 am

I'm a 27-year-old college graduate and military vet. I have been suffering from abdominal discomfort for a week and went to my doctor. We did lab work and she called me today concerned with my levels involving my liver. After a brief conversation of Q&A we both came to the conclusion that I have a drinking problem. And I do.

Has anyone here recovered from liver damage?

I go in on Friday to talk about my alcoholism. She told me that she doesn't want me to stop drinking until we meet and figure out how severe it is. I'm very worried and scared. I'm just looking for some inspiration. I don't want to die (who does), but not at 27 when I'm just begining my life. I hope someone has had a simular experience who I can identify with.
ksross
Forums Newcomer

Postby Blue Moon » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:36 am

Liver problems are quite common amongst chronically heavy drinkers and alcoholics. In all cases, continued drinking makes it worse, never better. In many cases, cessation of drinking alone goes a long way to solving the problem. If she's suggesting you continue drinking until a detox program is worked out, I'm guessing your intake is considerable enough to warrant concern that sudden detox could result in DTs. So I'd suggest keeping the appointment, and meanwhile why not check out AA in your local area?
Ian S
AKA Blue Moon
Blue Moon
Site Admin

Postby ksross » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:40 am

Yeah. I think I am. My gf describes herself as the "kid with the coloring book" at meetings when she was a girl. She really likes AA and is convinced that it can save my life. I worry that because my drinking has never caused social or domestic problems that it went unchecked for too long.