Doing the right thing at work

For recovery discussion

Doing the right thing at work

Postby Shoreline » Thu May 17, 2018 2:50 pm

I have a huge resentment against my workplace because I feel like if I try to do the right thing, I'm punished for it and if I do the wrong thing, I'm rewarded. By the way I'm an electrician. A lot of examples I could give, here is a few. Gossip: everyone gossips about other coworkers, and it's like there's a competition on who can create the most drama. If you don't join in the gossip, then you don't "fit in", and other employees can make your life miserable, by avoiding working with you. Another example is stealing small amounts of copper or wire that can be sold for scrap, if you don't do this then everyone thinks you're too uptight.

I do honestly want to try to do the right thing. Gossiping, stealing etc is not conducive to my sobriety. But if I don't do these things, it will be even harder for me at work, and i will get even more angry and resentful at everybody. By the way this is my 4th job in 10 years, and all my workplaces were kind of like this, though this one is a little worse than others. Must be something about working in manufacturing. I've applied to many jobs but have not got any offers yet. Plus I'm worried, that at any job I get, I will have the same problems.
Shoreline
Forums Enthusiast

Re: Doing the right thing at work

Postby Greywolf » Thu May 17, 2018 4:15 pm

First off you are for sure doing the right thing by being concerned.

Forgive me but I'm going to be blunt like I am with my "sponsees." No offense intended. Please take it as a sign I care. I am going to assume you are fairly new at the sobriety game since you went on line with this and not a face to face sponsor.