Helping with mental disorder

For recovery discussion

Helping with mental disorder

Postby kaosxtech » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:13 pm

There are those, too, who suffer from grave emotional and mental disorders, but many of them do recover if they have the capacity to be honest.
(Alcoholics Anonymous, Chapter 5, p. 38)
I am not sure if its appropriate to discuss my work with a person, but I feel very anonymous on the forums. I do discuss with my sponsor as well but this is a good resource.
I am currently working with a person who I believe has one if not many mental disorders (maybe mild schizophrenia). He is currently in an in patient rehab. When I read this part of the big book it seems to me the most important thing is for him to be honest. I want to work the steps but personally feel he may not even be understanding the steps as I bring them up in our conversation. I am not a doctor but he has told me he is on many medications and why they dont work and what ones he needs. I dont tell him he should or should not be on a specific medication but I do tell him its good that he is working with doctors.
Should I just continue to explain the first step to him until he maybe grasps it ( and then forgets it before our next visit). How do I best help this individual?
Thanks for any input.
Selfishness—self-centeredness! That, we think, is the root of our troubles. (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 62)
kaosxtech
Forums Enthusiast

Re: Helping with mental disorder

Postby Blue Moon » Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:48 pm

This is a tricky one. I was unable to do the steps if I couldn't comprehend them. I know some who couldn't even read when they walked into AA, yet were able to get sober with the Steps by working with a patient sponsor, speaker CDs, etc.