Progressive Sobriety?

For recovery discussion

Progressive Sobriety?

Postby FYI » Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:20 am

Alcoholism is progressive, is sobriety progressive as well?

The forums will from time to time put up topics like this, in the hope that members will find them interesting enough to start a discussion.
FYI
Trusted Servant

Re: Progressive Sobriety?

Postby Mike O » Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:51 am

I guess in some sense, yes.
For me, drinking progressively became the norm. As I've been applying the A.A. principles to my daily life, not drinking has become the norm for me. I find it has become progressively easier to not drink.
Mike O
Forums Old Timer

Postby D-man » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:38 am

I have not had the same experience although I am new to sobriety.
I have gone 7 days then had a relapse. the next day I started over again 7 days then a drink.
I need to stop the cycle.
D-man
Forums Newcomer

Postby PaigeB » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:42 am

Welcome D-man! This is a good topic - keep coming and see what others have to add!

Hummm - it works when I practice practice practice... It almost seems like once I feel I have some defect licked, a different form of it will come to my self awareness and I then begin to work on that.

But yeah, after I became willing to do the work, it became easier. It has become a way of life.

Actually, I give a lot of credit to e-aa for this! I used the Daily Reflections and a position as a trusted servant here to help me start out my day, everyday, with prayer and meditation.

I think that with the holidays coming we might see a rise is visitors and drop in members... It can be hard to make contact with other alcoholics in the US during the winter & holiday season. I hope they join in some of these cool discussion topics!!!
If I'm not able to say how I'm working my program today, then I'm not working my program.
The e-AA Group's 7th Tradition link: www.e-aa.org/group_seventh.php
PaigeB
Trusted Servant