I am celebrating 5yrs sobriety!

For recovery discussion

I am celebrating 5yrs sobriety!

Postby DaveMus » Fri Oct 27, 2017 8:44 am

Today is my five year sobriety date. I am on a business trip working in a hotel and I almost forgot! But it hit me when I looked at the date and I am overcome with gratitude. When I went into treatment 5 years ago, I could barely dress myself due to my alcohol and prescription drug abuse combined with a disease I have been afflicted with for decades: MS. Today as I prepare for my meetings, I look back on the last 5 years with nothing less than astonishment. The moment I hit the treatment center at age 55, I knew it was my only chance to save myself. So, I dug in and worked. I was ready.

And yes, I am going to brag a bit! Since then, I have released 4 films, have released 3 albums (I am a musician and filmmaker) and just published a book of wildlife photographs. Two years ago I started a non-profit to help at risk kids get to make music and films. This is intentional AA related service work and very important to my sobriety. I have logged thousands of miles trekking and bicycling and climbed a 14,000 foot peak in Colorado on my 60th birthday. I am on track to break my record personal best of biking and trekking 2,020 miles for the year year. (I could barely walk from room to room 5 years ago)

I could not have this success without the initial and continuing principles put forth by the AA program and the support of my loving family and friends. No AA it is not a perfect program, and yes I quibble with some things about the program now and then, but make no mistake, AA is a very important tool in my continuing recovery.

So, apologies for the bragging! (Couldn't help it lol!) I want to thank all who post in this forum. I have just started posting and have been enjoying the posts for a while. I figured it was time for me to try and contribute something that might be useful...