Pain Medication

For recovery discussion

Pain Medication

Postby Matt.F » Sun Sep 03, 2017 2:30 am

Hello I just wanted to post here I have a question. I have an abscessed wisdom tooth and I was prescribed antibiotics and pain medication to take until they can extract the tooth next week. I've been taking the pain medication as prescribed by the doctor. I've never had a pill problem, and I'm not tempted to abuse them or anything, I'm just curious what is the official AA position on the subject?
Matt.F
Forums Newcomer

Re: Pain Medication

Postby Mike O » Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:02 am

I'm not sure if there is an official policy or not, though I don't see why there would be. If these have been prescribed for pain relief, take them for pain relief. Don't worry about it.
Mike O
Forums Old Timer

Postby Brock » Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:06 am

Welcome here Matt. There is a leaflet on it here -
https://www.aa.org/assets/en_US/p-11_aa ... edDrug.pdf

I would agree with Mike and the leaflet will confirm, take it as prescribed. Best of luck with the extraction and nice to see you here, come back anytime.
"Good morning, this is your Higher Power speaking. I will not be needing your help today."
Brock
Forums Coordinator

Postby Cristy99 » Sun Sep 03, 2017 6:33 am

Welcome Matt!!

I never had a pill problem either. However, if I am in a position to have to take a controlled substance such as pain meds, I like them. I like them a lot. I LIKE THEM TOO MUCH!!!!! But I have seen AA members try to go without proper medicine when they are in extreme pain like you....abscesses tooth, after surgery, etc. it's not pretty. And I think AAs and drug addicts are too hard on themselves at times in this area.