Do you ever feel better?

For recovery discussion

Do you ever feel better?

Postby Busanteacher9 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:21 pm

I want to stop drinking. It's been 3 days since I had any alcohol, but if feels a lot longer than that. I usually drink out of boredom, life feels boring to me a lot of the times.

But, I am making some changes... I am starting graduate school next week. And I am starting an art gallery benefit in the city that I live in to raise money for homeless people and a no-kill dog shelter.

I am hoping that these positive changes will be enough. I've been drinking heavily for five years, and lately I've felt sick. Like after one beer, I don't feel good. And I feel like the alcohol is never out of my system. I had a liver check and the doctor says that it's fine, but the alcohol... it scares me.

My father died from liver cirrhosis from drinking & mixing pills with alcohol. I don't take any kind of drugs, but I drink a lot. Like, a bottle of gin a month plus two or three beers a night. Sometimes, in the middle of the day I drink a wine cooler just to make the time go by faster.

I think that I am different from a lot of People. I live in a small island in South Korea. I don't have many people to speak English and to, and Soth Koreans drink a lot of alcohol so they don't think That I have a problem. But I know that so have a problem.

Lately, I've felt gross. And fat. I gained a lot of weight over the past year because I was drinking too many craft beers. And I've felt unwell. Have any of you ever experienced this? How long does it take to feel better? I want to stop drinking alcohol for good, and I know that meetings can help but there aren't any meetings here.
Busanteacher9
Forums Newcomer

Re: Do you ever feel better?

Postby Spirit Flower » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:45 am

You can find all AA literature here: http://www.aa.org/pages/en_US/aa-literature