Need some help

For recovery discussion

Need some help

Postby GodFirst » Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:55 pm

Hi all,

I'm Kayleigh, I'm an alcoholic. This is my first time here. I've been sober for 3.5 years. I used to go to meetings quite a bit when I was first getting sober. Then over the course of the last 1-1.5 years my meeting numbers have dwindled to about 1/week. At that, I'm not getting a lot out of the meeting I go to. I go because I know the people and, let's face it, I hate change.

My husband and I are pregnant with our first child. It was a struggle for us to conceive. We tried for years. We ended up needing 3 rounds of IVF to get this little miracle. I think infertility was the hardest thing I've ever faced. Even more than getting sober. What kept me sane during these few years was prayer (lots of prayer), and online forums filled with others that were struggling just like I was. It reminded me a lot of aa. Just a bunch of people sharing their experience, strength and hope.

I've been feeling a bit discontent lately and have had thoughts of social drinking when the baby is born. I need to confess that I never had a problem with alcohol, my problem was opioids. Then I was feeling guilty over having these feelings and thinking, "I may just quit meetings all together because I'm getting very little out of them." My excuse for this is I'm very involved in my church and am very comfortable there and am accountable.

So, my question is, do y'all only attend online meetings? I've discussed this with my sponsor and she thinks online meetings may be a great thing for me, but I'm so scared of making any mistakes. I'm quite hard on myself. Just looking for some general guidance and advice. Looking for your experience, strength and hope. Thanks!
GodFirst
Forums Newcomer

Re: Need some help

Postby positrac » Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:28 am

Welcome, and congratulations on your baby!