12-Step Research Request

All visitors are invited to "sign" the guest book.

12-Step Research Request

Postby BoozeDoc » Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:16 am

My name is Don, and I am a doctoral student in psychology at a university. In my academic studies, and my personal journey as a friend of Bill W., I have observed that our recovery experiences have many similarities with the emerging field of Positive Psychology. My study, Alcoholics Anonymous: Testing a 12-Step Stage-of-Recovery Meaning Making Model, aims to help 12-step researchers and clinicians better understand how recovering alcoholics search for and find meaning in life through the spiritual program of Alcoholics Anonymous.

This survey includes 22 questions. Two questions are used to identify the population of this study: AA members older than 18 years old with more than 1 month of current sobriety. The survey will also ask how long you have considered yourself a member of AA. Nine questions in the survey are from the Alcoholics Anonymous Affiliation Scale, and 10 questions are from the Meaning in Life Questionnaire, which was recently developed by a team of positive psychologists led by Stephen Steger.

I am using the snowball survey method. This method relies on your individual goodwill to complete the survey, and to pass this survey request on to those in your recovery network. Please share this website address with other recovering alcoholics and ask them to do the same.

The study design ensures participant anonymity and can be completed online.

[Moderator's note: Last name, email address, name of institution, phone number and link removed per forums policies on outside links and anonymity on a world-accessible public forum. Please use pm function to obtain link for study. -- Ann]

Thank you,

Don
BoozeDoc
Forums Newcomer

Re: 12-Step Research Request

Postby leejosepho » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:14 am