Hi, just sharing my story

All visitors are invited to "sign" the guest book.

Hi, just sharing my story

Postby Comawhite » Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:13 pm

Hi guys,

I'm new to the AA and I haven't attend the meetings yet. Although, I've decided to join the online discussion group first. I've started drinking when I was 14. It started with me and my friends sneaking beers and sparkeling wine from our parents and drinking at someone's house. I felt in love with booze almost instantly. For me it was like love from the first sight. All I could think about was how to get some more beer for a party, and I was always the last person to leave the party. And the most wasted one. After that, between the age of 18 and 22 I would get drunk every other day, I would usually drink a bottle of wine and 3-4 beers. On weekends I would go out and drink all night long. I absolutelly love the feeling of freedom and the ability to forget all of my problems and worries. Luckily, I managed to get married making my husband believe that my drinking was due to us having fun dating and the honey moon phase. Shortly after our life together, he realized that I was an alcoholic.
I'm going to be 25 soon, and I can't manage to stay sober for more than 5 days in a row. My only achievement was me being sober for the full 2 weeks few month ago. Now, I drink every 2-3 days with episodes of morning/day drinking on the weekends. The hardest part for me is to battle my anxiety and depression with anything else besides alcohol.
The worst part of this whole thing is that I watched my dad die from liver cirrossis few month ago. I watched him turn yellow, I watched him suffer and I watched him take his last breath. I swore on everything I could that I will never pick up a bottle, but sure thing, after the wake I was drunk and I kept getting even drunker since than. I do realize that what happend to him is going to happen to me. Although, my grief takes over my reasoning and I end up drunk again and again.