Members who verbally attack in meetings

All visitors are invited to "sign" the guest book.

Members who verbally attack in meetings

Postby upbeat01 » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:34 am

I have been attending meetings for 3 1/2 years. The experience has been excellent. However over the past year I have been witness to attacking behavior in some meetings.

One woman called a group conscience about the issue of another woman who attends with contagious diseases such as colds and bronchitis. The meeting room is about 10 feet by 20 feet. The group conscience ended that day with no decision. Offending member who had a virus and a friend at subsequent meeting attacked and followed the woman to her car yelling and threatening . This type of behavior caused 4 members to find other groups.

At another meeting, one man told the lead "F*ck you!" Same man told a member yesterday "Shut the f*ck, you old hag!"

Never witnessed this type of behavior or foul language during the first year of meetings at the local Step Club.

Personally, I left the first group.

Any thoughts on attacking behavior in meetings? Is lead responsible for ceasing bad behavior?
Last edited by upbeat01 on Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Let Go And Let God
upbeat01
Forums Enthusiast

Re: Members who verbally attack in meetings

Postby PaigeB » Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:09 pm

I was the target of one gal, but I never gave in. I may be old, but my mind does not seem to know that. Had she invited me outside I would have met her at the door.