Greetings from Kentucky

All visitors are invited to "sign" the guest book.

Greetings from Kentucky

Postby chefchip » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:03 am

Hello, all...

I just registered and wanted to say hello. I probably should have done this before I posted replies to a few topics that caught my eye! :roll:

Anyway, my name is Chip. I'm a chef. Hence the user name. I am a member of AA in the great state of Kentucky, USA. I won't bore you with my story. However, I will tell you that I own a new business and work a LOT of hours a week. Fortunately, I do have time for both my home group and one other regular meeting (a beginner's group) every week. But I spend a lot of time "cooling my heels" because of my business being new and my need to minimize payroll until it picks up. So, here I am! With all this free time on my hands, it seems right somehow for me to spend it reading about where others are in recovery, learning from them and, if so prompted, sharing my experience, strength and hope.

I'll leave you with my favorite paragraph from the Big Book, one that has become my recovery mantra, if you will.

"And we have ceased fighting anything or anyone-even alcohol. For by this time sanity will have returned. We will seldom be interested in liquor. If tempted, we recoil from it as from a hot flame. We react sanely and normally, and we will find that this has happened automatically. We will see that our new attitude toward liquor has been given us without any thought or effort on our part. It just comes! That is the miracle of it. We are not fighting it, neither are we avoiding temptation. We feel as though we had been placed in a position of neutrality-safe and protected. We have not even sworn off. Instead, the problem has been removed. It does not exist for us. We are neither cocky nor are we afraid. That is our experience. That is how we react so long as we keep in fit spiritual condition." (pp. 84-5)

Thanks for being here!
Chip
The only constant in life is change.