22 Just Admitted I Have A Problem

All visitors are invited to "sign" the guest book.

22 Just Admitted I Have A Problem

Postby Rosezilla » Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:51 pm

Today, I truly accepted the fact that I have an alcohol problem.

To summarize quickly:

I have been drinking for many years as a result of many factors (genes, socialization, depression, anxiety, self-numbing etc.). Twice in the last four months, I thought about how much and often I was drinking. I briefly entertained the notion that I may have an issue. But then I drank I forgot about it... I have been seeing this very nice guy for the last few weeks. Basically, we met up with some mutual friends of ours before we were supposed to be going to see a movie. Long story short I got quite drunk and it became obvious there was no way I could get into the movie. Not only was I completely mortified at myself the next morning, I was so disappointed in myself for putting the guy I am seeing (and I do really enjoy his company) in a position that must have been uncomfortable disappointing. Today he told me how mad he was about the way I acted. He was upset I could see, and that was confirmed when he simply said, "This really sucks, because I like you... I like you very much". We went on discuss some of the issues and facts that are associated with my drinking. Basically, I can remember about five days over the past two and half years where I did not have a drink. I drink everyday mostly. I don't always get drunk, but I'll always have a drink.

I could fill libraries with the reasons I abuse alcohol... But after all, this is only an introduction to this forum... as well as an introduction to my acceptance.
Rosezilla
Forums Newcomer

Re: 22 Just Admitted I Have A Problem

Postby PaigeB » Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:08 am