What do you enjoy doing in sobriety?

"... We absolutely insist on enjoying life" (p. 132, Alcoholics Anonymous). Here's the forum for fun and frivolity. Enjoy!

What do you enjoy doing in sobriety?

Postby Niagara » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:20 am

Since getting sober, I find I have time on my hands that I no longer fill with the stuff that I used to, be that drinking, hours in front of the tv not really watching anything, or whiling the wee hours away with computer games, just to shut my mind up since I just couldn't sit, or sleep. Even with a drink in me, at the end. Attempt to occupy myself until I passed out. Enjoy none of it.-

I find my creative side is coming back big style. It's been a while. I enjoy painting, and drawing. I'm considering making my own clothes, soft furnishings etc. I'm a baker and a cook, and before next years spring I intend to get my greenhouse fixed up and get planting again! It's great to feel productive after a long period of well, not.
I'm a lover of all things crafty....why buy something for £5 when you can make it for £50 worth of crafting supplies! :oops: :lol:

So, have you guys learned any new skills or picked up old hobbies again since getting sober?
If you could kick the person in the pants responsible for most of your trouble, you wouldn't sit for a month -
Theodore Roosevelt
Niagara
Forums Old Timer

Re: What do you enjoy doing in sobriety?

Postby Tosh » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:50 am

Nice post, Niagara...

It's good to be sober and doing the stuff I just used to think about doing, when I was drinking, but not doing anything.

I've posted about all my stuff though; running and photography. I'm not much into TV, but I can get hooked on the occasional TV series. Don't watch Breaking Bad, it's like booze; once you start, you can't stop watching.