Sobriety is not a Science

Current topics and news from The Grapevine.

Sobriety is not a Science

Postby Karl R » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:08 am

The title on this 1960 Grapevine Article caught my eye being a scientist myself. We often ask "Why does it work?" in regards to the 12 step spiritual solution presented in the book Alcoholics Anonymous. The author points out the potential irrelevance and even danger of this question in this article.

accept the fact that to benefit by a new discovery, it is not necessary to understand why it works, so long as we can accept the fact that it does work.

And then try working it for ourselves.

Copyright © The AA Grapevine, Inc. (August 1960 vol. 17 no. 3 ). Reprinted with permission.

cheers,
Karl

EARLY in January of 1959 two of us, AA members, called on a man who had wound up in a sanitarium after starting for a Christmas Eve cocktail party given by a colleague. He was a thirty-six-year-old mathematical physicist, an expert on inertial guidance systems, with a distinguished World War II aerial combat record.

During the following months our new baby soaked up information on alcoholism and AA like a sponge. Applying a brilliant mind and a background including doctoral studies at a leading midwestern university, he soon knew nearly everything the textbooks could impart on the chemistry of alcohol in the body.

Nevertheless, he was unable to stop drinking for more than a month or so at a time, and he used sedatives, tranquilizers, pepper-uppers and ease-me-downers continuously.

During 1959 I saw him often, usually in my home, occasionally in hospitals. What prevented his staying sober, he claimed, was that as a scientist he could not find a scientifically satisfactory answer to the question: "Why does the AA program work?" If I could tell him this, he insisted, he would be able to achieve permanent sobriety.

Forced thus, I finally came up with an explanation which serves for me. It is this: