I'm new to this..

For the younger AA generation, some experience, strength and hope.

I'm new to this..

Postby JFlo » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:42 pm

I am a 24 (25 in August) year old female, I was newly married on May 2nd to the love of my life, and woman I have been with since I was 17. I have a father that has been in and out of prison my whole life, a brother that abused me and is now dealing with his own addiction issues (he has overdosed multiple times) and a mom that is currently housing him and taking care of him as if he doesn't have any other option. She has been in and out of the hospital the past year he has been living with her and it's really starting to scare me, but I don't know what to do to separate them. I am angry, it's effecting my life, my happiness, and my relationship and I would like to speak with someone that has a new perspective.

Also- I've been drinking since 10am. I don't want to end up in prison like my dad and I don't want to be a junkie like my brother. I really don't want to be a pushover like my mom, and I just don't know how to rise above it.

I need to know how to be okay being sober, and dealing with this.
Last edited by JFlo on Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
JFlo
Forums Newcomer

Re: I'm new to this..

Postby ann2 » Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:50 am

Hi and welcome. So glad you're sharing here. I am so sorry for your family situation right now, it sounds very challenging.

I had drinkers in my family as well. One of them never got to A.A. but another got there recently and is sober over a year now. What I had to learn was that the healing starts with me.

I started going to A.A. meetings when I was 26. The first meeting I went to was chaired by a woman 27 years old celebrating a year sober. That was a clear message to me that I wasn't too young and that I belonged too.