Sober Musician

For the younger AA generation, some experience, strength and hope.

Sober Musician

Postby Jimmy B. » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:55 am

Hello Everyone, My name is Jimmy, I'm a grateful alcoholic.

I visited these forums before, when I was just barely starting down my journey of recovery but I don't think I ever bothered making a profile or anything. I just scanned through briefly. But today, I am glad to say that I have refrained from any drinking, and have been able to for almost 15 months now. (March 1st) :D :D

I'm currently a college student, attending a music school and I can definitely say that maintaining my sober lifestyle while going to school with a bunch of other musicians has had its ups and downs. There has definitely been a good deal of pressure I have run into, parties I've had to pass up, ignorance I've dealt with in these past few months that have certainly not been easy. But somehow, god nudged me right along my path of sobriety, for which I am very grateful.

With that said, going here, I have yet to find somebody (it being a small school) who is another recovering addict or alcoholic that I can talk to, or go to meetings with. I have definitely been attending meetings regularly when I can in the area, and talking with the AA community. But I must say that being back home there was a lot more diversity in the recovery population. Ranging from people my age (or even younger), to old timers. So I guess that's sort of why I decided to come back, make a profile and give this a shot. I hope to get to meet a lot of you, make friendships and be of as much help as I can. I love the program and everything about it, it has done wonders for me.

Keeping it up One Day at a Time, Jimmy
My AA Birthday: December 6th 2011

Still taking things One Day at a Time.
Jimmy B.
Forums Newcomer

Re: Sober Musician

Postby becksdad » Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:53 am