One innocent comment away from trouble....

Some alcoholics still have families when they get to AA. This is a place to ask questions and share experiences about relating to family members sober, especially when newly sober. (If you are not an alcoholic, please use the "Our Friends and Families" forum.)

One innocent comment away from trouble....

Postby highcostofliving » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:19 am

Just a share here, to get off my chest....

Sunday, I was bouncing back and forth on going to a morning meeting - it's a hard one to get to, and it's one of the few mornings I get with just myself, my wife and my daughter.... I'm new to sobriety (5 days at the time), so I thought I should go, but, well it's just tough....

As I was pondering to go or not, I was putting reservations in for my family's July camping trip. Little background - my family is huge, we invade the same state park, the same week, every year... there's close to 60 of us total... and this will be the 50th year going to said park, so it's a big year. Also about 11 years ago, one of our family members who is a chef, started to do a wine pairing up there, where he cooks about 10 meals and pairs each one with a wine, he raffles off free bottles, which everyone promptly shares with everyone else... all out of his motor home, it's incredibly good....

My brain, working like a true alcoholic has been constantly telling myself insane things lately like "dude, you're going to AA now, so you can just drink one more time, then quit for good at next weeks meeting"... seriously highcost, you're in AA so you can drink? That's dumb... but it runs through my head all day long...