Recovering Alcoholic and Alcoholic (Maybe) Wife

Some alcoholics still have families when they get to AA. This is a place to ask questions and share experiences about relating to family members sober, especially when newly sober. (If you are not an alcoholic, please use the "Our Friends and Families" forum.)

Recovering Alcoholic and Alcoholic (Maybe) Wife

Postby mikesp » Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:10 am

Hello All,

I have been attending AA meetings and a member of AA for almost 2 years. I have more than 13 months of consecutive sobriety right now. I had a relapse in the late Spring of 2013 that lasted, on and off, for about 3 1/2 months. Once I had successfully proven to myself that I could not drink safely - that I was truly and alcoholic of our kind - I went back to AA in September of 2013 and have worked the steps with a sponsor. Now, sobriety is the most important and mind-consuming thing in my life and I work every day to make it through the day without a drink.

My wife, however, is a different story. We have been married for almost 25 years. We have 3 daughters and a son. Our oldest is an adult now. My twin girls just went off to college, so the household is now our son (age 11), my wife and myself. The change has triggered a very large return to drinking for my wife. She has always been a drinker, but now it's going on just about every day. She hides it from me (not very well). She gets intoxicated at least 2-3 times a week. She isolates and drinks alone. She gets surly, mean and nasty towards me (and our son at times).

I have spoken with my sponsor about this just about every day since the real drinking began with her. He tells me to be patient, ask for guidance and see how it plays out. Let God deal with it when it is time. I can't do anything about it. Meditate on the serenity prayer.