New here

Got an issue with someone or something? Want to whine a little? Here's the place to do it, or to get to know folks, or ask those questions that don't fit anywhere else.

New here

Postby slboz » Mon May 15, 2017 2:19 pm

I've never done this online before... currently having a lot of mental health problems. My social anxiety is out of control and there's a 6 month waiting list to see a doctor in my town. My meds are all out of whack and I just can't physically go to a room full of people right now. Just want to get to know people and do whatever I need to within my limits right now to stay sober. I recently relapsed due to these problems. Saturday was my first day of committing to sobriety again.
slboz
Forums Newcomer

Re: New here

Postby Brock » Mon May 15, 2017 5:14 pm

Welcome here siboz, I saw this in the other post you made under the court card thread - “I'm at a point where I can admit complete and total powerlessness and take suggestions.”

As you probably know those are the sort of thoughts we need for AA to work, like you I was in and out of AA for a number of years, when I finally reached the point which I believe you may be at now, it was the beginning of the end of a pretty wild and crappy life.

If you can't make it to a meeting, I am one of those who say all is not lost, our main book has a story of someone in the same boat who got through fine, and that was before we had this great way of communicating via the internet. I will put up a couple of links to some chapters from that book, if you have or can get a copy of the book, (it's online as well), but with a paper copy you might sit a while each day, and follow along with a workshop on you tube. Just by typing in 'AA Big Book Workshop,' you will get a choice of a few, Joe and Charlie and the one by Chris R are popular, also on you tube by typing in 'AA Speakers' you get a range of stuff to choose from.

Three Chapters From The Big Book-

1.The Doctors Opinion.