Homegroup- restrictions?

Is the concept of a Home Group dying? What is a Home Group anyway? Talk about it here.

Homegroup- restrictions?

Postby MarlaB » Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:58 pm

Hi everyone I am new to AA been sober 3 months. My sponsor told me I needed to pick a home group but all the meetings I liked attending are service meetings and according to her they could not be a home group. Has anyone else heard of this? Please advise. Thank you!
MarlaB
Forums Newcomer

Re: Homegroup- restrictions?

Postby kenyal » Sun Jun 28, 2015 6:49 pm

Welcome here Marla. I've not heard of restrictions or qualifications for considering a meeting your homegroup. That would be new to me.

Obviously the qualities of some meetings lend themselves to that better than others. A meeting where the faces change each week, or where there are few people with time participating, or meetings that have lost their focus and carry a weak message would be poor choices, imo. A place where you can get to know people and watch what happens to them over time, where there is a healthy influx of new people, where bonds develop that often extend beyond AA, and where there is regular talk of our solution would be qualities I'd look for.

If the talk in the service meetings is that service is all that members need in order to recover, I'd continue looking for better.
kenyal
Forums Long Timer

Postby Tommy-S » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:50 pm

Hi Marla & Welcome to e-AA.

I have to say that you are the first I've heard of who wanted to make a Service Meeting their homegroup :)

We have no rules in AA, and none of us are forced to stay with a sponsor, or even get one to begin with. But I'm in agreement with your sponsor on this as our AA pamphlet, "The AA Group...Where it all begins" (http://www.aa.org/assets/en_US/p-16_theaagroup.pdf ) talks about The AA Home Group on page 15.