Multi Group Membership

Is the concept of a Home Group dying? What is a Home Group anyway? Talk about it here.

Multi Group Membership

Postby Longwalker » Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:39 am

I have been attending AA meetings 2 to 3 times a week for several years I am member of 2 groups but I only hold office in one of these group in the other I just wash the dishes and clean up at the last group meeting of one of these groups one of the Old Timers ???? put it to the vote that I should be made to give up membership of one of these group as he quotes the guidelines as saying because of voting rights you can only be a member of one group.

I have checked the guidelines till im going blind and cannot find the specific reference, when asked to vote on anything I always put AA first then the group and then me. ( unless it's voting on who's turn it is to buy the buns )

Anyone help out here as im losing some sleep over this one

With Regards
Longwalker
Longwalker
Forums Newcomer

Re: Multi Group Membership

Postby ann2 » Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:21 am

Hi and welcome!

I can understand how you would find that disturbing. Most of the things voted on in a business meeting have to do with the operation of the meeting itself. There's only a couple of times a year that there is a vote on an issue that will be taken further to intergroup or district.

Actually we have this discussion regarding online groups vs. face-to-face groups. Again, it's very infrequent that there would be a case of one person voting twice on the same thing and heard twice (via the groups) on the same question.

But alkies like to make a big deal of things sometimes. I would go with the group that hasn't made an issue of this myself :) and just keep attending the other group and helping out on an ad-hoc basis. However, I am sure you will find a solution that works for you. Also, other will want to add their own experience on this subject.

I'm just Ann, the laissez-faire.

Ann