sponsor problems

Most of us who recovered with AA's program did so with the help of a "sponsor". But what is sponsorship? How do I get one? Who can be a sponsor? What makes a good sponsor?
soberism
Forums Newcomer

sponsor problems

Post by soberism » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:48 am

Hi all.

Newbie here...

I have skirted around AA before, read the BB and yet that was a long time ago, i am back years later and have got back to AA because i wanted to quit drinking entirely and i knew AA was the way to go.

I have been using online sites, that was in a way what got my backside into going to meetings, i am only 4 weeks sober today but i have a sponsor now and i have worked step 1 with him.

The problem i have is that my sponsor has said he is "rubbish" at sponsoring (he offered though, i did not ask), he´s a really nice guy but that comment did not instill too much hope in me... his last sponsee just vanished.

The guy has over 20 years sobriety and is very dedicated to AA yet he is somewhat vague on questions regarding step work, i am hugely impatient (i feel i have done steps 1,2 and 3), i KNOW i have step one for sure and then i sort of reworked that with him, i am alcoholic and there is no doubt about that, i have accepted it unreservedly which was actually a relief... HOWEVER, my sponsor seems to have the effect on me that the steps are complicated... in MY mind they are not, we just make them that way...

I have told him i am dropping doing research on my own (online) and will work at his pace, after all, i want a sponsor and so it´s only fair on him that i give him a chance...

I asked him if Step 4 was written, i was not jumping the gun but probably gave that impression... then i felt bad and called him up to apologize because i know i am being impatient... yet i merely asked if he could give me some idea how HE was going to take me through the steps... he just seemed wishy washy... the BB states stuff is put on paper on Step 4 so why not just tell me???