SOBER 4 Months 2maro but I need more.....

Most of us who recovered with AA's program did so with the help of a "sponsor". But what is sponsorship? How do I get one? Who can be a sponsor? What makes a good sponsor?
MrCPM
Forums Newcomer

SOBER 4 Months 2maro but I need more.....

Post by MrCPM » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:35 pm

Hi my name is Carl and Im a alcoholic.....2maro marks my 4th month being sober from drinking.Im very proud of this and I have been working the steps but i feel I need to gain a sponser to increase my recovery. I am 24 years old with a wife of 1 1/2 years and a 6 month old daughter. 4 months ago I was released from a recovery home and havent drank since. Im from Chicago and constantly go to my aa meetings near me, atleast twice a week. This is my first time registering on the site and I have come to learn more about working the system and being of assistance to anyone who needs

jak
Forums Long Timer

Re: SOBER 4 Months 2maro but I need more.....

Post by jak » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:43 pm

Hi Carl and welcome,

I'm jim - alcoholic. Joined AA when I was 28 years old. Went to a lot of meetings and was directed to use the book Alcoholics Anonymous to learn about and use the program. I was steered to join a home group and make it a commitment. And then also to go to as many meetings as needed and wanted. There was no online support then.

You are welcome here.

jimk

ann2
Forums Old Timer

Post by ann2 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:53 pm

Hi Carl, welcome! Congratulations on your time sober, that's outstanding. I'm Ann, alcoholic who was lucky enough to find AA at the age of 26. So glad you are here. I lived for a little less than a year in Chicago when I was actively drinking, moved around and now I'm in the country of Estonia, former Soviet satellite nation. Chicago was colder :-o but also hotter :!: