Confused, alone and looking for guidance

Most of us who recovered with AA's program did so with the help of a "sponsor". But what is sponsorship? How do I get one? Who can be a sponsor? What makes a good sponsor?

Confused, alone and looking for guidance

Postby Feeya » Sun May 22, 2016 12:49 am

Hi everyone,
I'm kind of new to all of this, I haven't really figured anything out yet but I wanted to start looking into AA, because I think it could possibly help my situation...
Now, I have never been to a real life meeting, that seems like a very scary thing... and I just don't really know where to start. What do I do?
Someone told me that I should get a sponsor who guides me along? But where do I get one and how does that work?
I feel kind of lost and everything is really scary right now and I would really appreciate if anyone had any kind of advice.
Sorry if this is the wrong Thread... I'm absolutely clueless.

Feeya, scared.
One day at a time.
Feeya
Forums Contributor

Re: Confused, alone and looking for guidance

Postby PaigeB » Sun May 22, 2016 1:12 am

You are not the only one struggling with loneliness... another newcomer posted a new thread today and there are some good words there:
viewtopic.php?f=36&t=20464

As for finding meetings & AA folks near you, you can follow the links from this site to anywhere in the world. Then just pick up the phone. Use your feet, rather than your head, and just walk into a meeting and tell someone that you are new! http://www.aa.org/pages/en_US/find-aa-resources

For answers about sponsorship, here is an AA approved pamphlet on the subject, but it is pretty simple - a sponsor walks you through the Big Book called Alcoholics Anonymous and guides you through the Steps. It is one person who you can go to with everything and get some practical advice on what the next right thing is to do. http://www.aa.org/assets/en_US/aa-liter ... ponsorship