First step

The 12 Steps are the AA program of recovery from alcoholism.

First step

Postby nomorealcohol » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:55 am

Hello everyone
I'm a newbie here so please don't flame me. How long should the first step take. I mean I already acknowledge that I'm an alcoholic and I'm powerless to stop on my own. Is that realization enough to me to progress to the second step or is there a time frame before we progress to the next step.
nomorealcohol
Forums Newcomer

Re: First step

Postby Brock » Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:37 am

I think I gave an opinion on that in my other post Bob, to me people get tied up on this, and it's not always their fault. Some sponsors will spend time trying to make sure you really believe your life has become unmanageable and so forth, I feel from your words you believe that already. That's one of the reasons I like the speaker Chris R, he was in and out of AA for years, just like me, getting tied up in little details. Then he went to the “right” meeting and found the answer. Listen to him speak about sitting on the tray of his truck two weeks after that, crying tears of joy, because the obsession had gone.

I say you move on, if you have a big book maybe on you tube listen to 'Joe and Charlie Big Book Study,' or Chris R big book study and follow in the book, even a little each day. The problem is we have no defense against the first drink without getting some of these steps done, will power will work a while but as you know it will fail, and because you know that step 2 should be easy to accept.
"Good morning, this is your Higher Power speaking. I will not be needing your help today."
Brock
Forums Coordinator

Postby PaigeB » Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:10 am

Step 1 for me was reading with my sponsor from The Doctor's Opinion all the way up to page 44, We Agnostics. It took several weeks meeting once a week, but I talk a lot! :wink:
If I'm not able to say how I'm working my program today, then I'm not working my program.