Religion and AA Meeting Protocol

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.
ImTbD
Forums Newcomer

Religion and AA Meeting Protocol

Post by ImTbD » Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:09 pm

Hi Folks,
I am new to AA but not new to the 12-step concept. I have close people in my life who have benefited from such a program, and I trust their judgment completely.
However, I have to say I am daunted by many of the speakers - especially in the online meetings and chats, who focus more on God than on the subject of alcohol.
Moreover, I have seen some talk about AA as akin to following a religion, and that just turns my "Oh lord, it's a CULT....RUN!" knob to High.

So, can someone please tell me what is the proper protocol for someone who may be completely put off by such heavy and, frankly, incredibly shallow, religious diatribe? Can I speak up and say "enough already?" Or is that considered completely rude and combative?

I am accepting of all faiths and consider myself spiritual as well. I am also pretty dang sure I need this program. But if I have to hear Preacher Johnnie wax poetic about how he found God, and only God can save you, and ya better hear the MESSAGE of AA, yada, yada, I honestly don't think I am going to be able to stick with this.

Are there chat areas for people who are a little more... uh... into talking deeply and intelligently about the steps and about individual stories? (Trying really hard not to sound like a snob ... but hell. Maybe I am.)

Please advise! Thanks!

Marc L
Forums Old Timer

Re: Religion and AA Meeting Protocol

Post by Marc L » Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:40 pm

Hi there;
I'm Marc and I am Alcoholic.
Welcome to e-AA.
Opinions regarding what AA is, isn't and God and all that jazz are just that, opinions.