1st time here!

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.
edr02
Forums Newcomer

1st time here!

Post by edr02 » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:34 pm

Hi
As topic suggests this is my first time here and feel maybe like rabbit in headlights!
I've been having drink problems for years since I was a teenager. I never really drank every day but whenever I drank I just had to get completely wasted. This happens whenever I go out and drink socially. It's like a physical power that I just carry on drinking until I fall over. Hangovers are very bad and takes a couple of days to recover. On top of this I was diagnosed with asthma last year and alcohol is a trigger for my asthma. I'm, 46 now and need to stop!
I'm lucky in that I've a good life and no major health issues apart from the alcohol. I'm a bit clueless about AA though. I've found an AA group near us and intend on going. I've also signed up to the email group.
It's all a bit new but hopefully will get to grips with it all. Can anyone recommend any topics on this forum which are useful, also anything on the 12steps programme.

Brock
Trusted Servant

Re: 1st time here!

Post by Brock » Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:00 am

Welcome here to e-AA.

Of what you wrote these words especially reminded me of classic alcoholic behavior - “It's like a physical power that I just carry on drinking until I fall over.” Our literature says a good bit about this, once we take the first one we can’t stop the way ‘normal’ people do.