New to AA

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

New to AA

Postby carlyburgess26 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 12:12 pm

Hello everyone!
My name is Carly and I'm admitting to myself that I'm an alcoholic. This has been a major struggle in my life since I was 16 years old. Now I'm 23 and I work as a bartender/server and my drinking problem has been absolutely awful and apparently I don't have any self control anymore. I'm two days sober but I'm scared that I could go back any second (especially at work where there's alcohol all around me). I need some real help because I have a little one year old daughter and I want to fix this problem before it starts to affect her life. I feel weak-minded, selfish and guilty. My question is this, how do I go about getting immediate help on these forums? I'm new to this and I'd love to know the legitimate steps to staying sober. I don't want to drink anymore. I have messed up so many friendships, relationships and family members over my problem. My 33 year old brother Justin died from drug/alcohol abuse. When I'm drunk I get so angry and attack anyone around me that I can. People have called me abrasive multiple times while drinking and it hurts. I end up hating myself the next day because I don't feel like that person is ME. I wan't to be the carefree, happy person that I used to be but it feels like that's impossible or too far away. I'm just looking for advice and help. Thank you so much!
- Carly
carlyburgess26
Forums Newcomer

Re: New to AA

Postby avaneesh912 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 12:59 pm

Carly,