Three and a half months sober, but still having 'moments'

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Three and a half months sober, but still having 'moments'

Postby Northern light » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:10 pm

Hi. I'm new to this online forum, so I'd just like to say hello. I'm Three and a half months sober, have got a sponsor and am reading the big book at the moment. I'm going to a couple of meetings a week and feel like I'm doing quite well. This afternoon, I went out for dinner with some friends of my partner. They are all big drinkers and ordered lots of bottles of Wine with the food. I ordered a large bottle of sparkling water and an alcohol free beer. The food was good, and I chatted and it was fine. At the other end of the table, they were laughing and joking and I felt envious and resentful that I can't drink like that now. I certainly had a moment when those glasses of Wine were being poured. Everyone was going on to the pub as there's entertainment on later. I decided to come home, as I knew there would be a lot of drinking, the music would be too loud to talk properly to anyone and I'd be bored. I'm sitting by the fire watching TV and I'm fine, but sometimes it's still hard to take myself out of a risky situation like that. In my experience, change can be a lonely road. So, I wanted to post on here to feel part of something and not alone.
Northern light
Northern light
Forums Newcomer

Re: Three and a half months sober, but still having 'moments

Postby Brock » Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:15 pm

Welcome here Northern light.