Let's try this!

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Let's try this!

Postby Dax » Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:00 pm

Hello all,
This is my first time posting here. My name is Alex and I am an alcoholic. I am 30 years old, I have 2 kids, one 13 and the other 6. I am married to a very supportive wife who has stuck with me through all my S*** and I do not know why she did. I am a U.S. Army combat Veteran, I have a DUI and I would not say that was the point that turned my life backward...

The day way February, 28th, 2013. I admitted that I needed help. Back then I was drinking at least a 5th of vodka per day. I knew I had an issue and wanted help! I finally got the help I needed in the ICU at a local hospital, I was admitted for 3 weeks in the ICU because of DT's and how my body reacted to the absence of alcohol. After which, I was active in an aftercare program which took place 3 times a week for 2 hours a day and I attended AA meetings as often as I could.

I felt so strong at that point in my life. My kids were little, my addiction (to them) was new, and I stayed sober 100% for just over 2 years. It's the honeymoon phase, right?

Today is January 12, 2018, and I have relapsed 4 times since the time I originally quit.

Since my original admission to the hospital in 2013, I have willing taken myself to the emergency room two other times and admitted defeat by alcohol. Because of this, I have missed my children's birthdays, Christmas and anniversaries!