Hey everyone

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Hey everyone

Postby jbirdy179 » Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:20 pm

Hey I am new to all this. I've been to 1 AA meeting, the only issue is with my work schedule it is sometimes hard to make it to a certain group. I work overnights and have inconsistent days off. Honestly, no one has told me that I have a problem. But I recognize that I have one. I have anxiety and I use alcohol to calm my anxiety. I have tried so many prescription medications but I didn't like the way any of them made me feel. But I love the way alcohol does. Since I work overnights when I get out at 7AM I will have a bottle of wine, and if I don't work that night I will fall asleep and drink another bottle when I wake up. I know I can't keep doing this to my body but I can't stop. I did stop at one point, after getting into an argument with my BF for getting too drunk at a party. I went to a meeting and I was fine for about a month until my birthday, I had some wine because, hey, it's my birthday. That was September and I've been drinking since. And the holidays are especially hard since everyone in my family drinks at family gatherings. Basically I need something to change but I can't control myself
Forums Newcomer

Re: Hey everyone

Postby Brock » Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:31 pm

Welcome here jbirdy.

I think it’s very good you recognize the problem before doing too much damage, many of us ended up hurting others and ourselves, with a list of people to make amends to in the steps.

The example of you being able to stop for a month is common, but it’s staying stopped that’s the problem, more importantly staying stopped and enjoying life. AA meetings should introduce us to the steps of the program, because that’s where the solution is found.