Finally realized I'm an alcoholic

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Finally realized I'm an alcoholic

Postby EmQ » Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:16 pm

I've never been on a website like this before, but I just turned 21 and I've been drinking heavily for almost 2 years now. I'm looking for some kind of support system, so hopefully I'm in the right place. Look forward to hearing anyone interested in offering some advice :)
EmQ
Forums Newcomer

Re: Finally realized I'm an alcoholic

Postby Brock » Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:50 am

Hello EmQ, yes I think you are in the right place, my apologies for your post from last night not going up until this morning, only first posts are delayed sometimes, all others go straight up.

Of course you will have heard of AA before, and maybe seen in movies or TV some people sitting around and talking, to me it doesn’t give a true picture. What we try to do both online and more so in live meetings, is expose others to the 12 step program, it's a simple set of things we do which has been shown to completely remove the urge to drink, not turn us into saints or goody goody types, it shows how to live a normal life without drink. I realized so called normal people didn't drink like I did, and the great thing about this program I found is that it addressed the reasons I drank like I did, once those were handled I didn't want to drink anymore, and I found a better life by far.

I will put some links to parts of our main book, some general stuff and a meeting finder, see if you can read some of it and you will get a better idea. Also ask any questions here if you like, we really enjoy having new folks around.

Is A.A. For You – 12 Questions.
http://www.aa.org/pages/en_US/is-aa-for ... can-answer

A Brief Guide To AA.