want to go deeper

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

want to go deeper

Postby Lansbury » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:00 pm

Hello everyone. I'm Lansbury, an alcoholic from the UK (I'm female).

I have nearly eight months sober, and I have been attending AA meetings - at least twice weekly, for about three months. I attend a women's meeting and a Big Book study, which happens to be all older men except for me (I'm 35).

AA has really helped me - but I am still struggling - REALLY struggling - partly with the desire to drink, but mainly with the desire not to be sober. I have problems in my relationships, with my partner in particular, with my children, and I feel like my head is like a washing machine. I am exhausted.

In my last Big Book meeting I shared - and just said that I was feeling beat, and I really felt the only way for me to get some peace was to go all into AA, get a sponsor, and go through the steps totally whole heartedly. That I was ready to start with that, after spending the last three months just listening, feeling things out, trying to understand the programme a little. It was clear, as everyone else in the Big Book study is a man, that I wasn't going to be asking anyone from that group to sponsor me, but at the end of the meeting one of the guys came up to me and said that confidentially, there's one person at the women's meeting that should not be sponsoring, that was dangerous and harmful and I should be very very very careful.

Of course i've been in a total tailspin since then. I don't know which person he was talking about and he wouldn't tell me. Now I feel like I can't ask any of these women, because I know full well my own judgement and thinking is shot at - that is why I need help and sponsorship and a programme in the first place.