Still sobering up

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Still sobering up

Postby Nubshock » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:40 pm

So I've been to one meeting before, and I guess I'm still coming to terms with my problem. I know my behavior isn't acceptable, and it's a stress on my marriage. My wife and I are having a hard enough time dealing with IVF treatments, which makes me want to drink more, but it makes it even harder on her. I probably developed my drinking problem in the USMC. Lots of weekend parties playing beer pong and getting F*** up just so the nights in the barracks wouldn't be so boring. Today my wife went to work, and I'm a full time college student so I'm free all day until the 9th when classes start back up. I bought a $10 bottle of vodka and drank half of it. I know I have a problem. I need to attend meetings in person (I think) and I need to keep myself busy (idle hands are the devil's tools as they say).

I want to get sober and stay that way. I had one grandfather who almost ruined his family (he literally shot my grandmother while drunk) and another who committed suicide while drunk. I don't want this to ruin my marriage. I have the willpower, I'm a damn US Marine. I just need to apply it and I know I can. I look forward to talking with you about how to stay sober and hopefully I can achieve a long standing sobriety and be a good part of the community. I've only ever gotten a 24 hour chip (which I don't even deserve at the moment) but I will achieve it again and more.

I look forward to talking with you all more in the future.
Nubshock
Forums Newcomer

Re: Still sobering up

Postby rpinkard » Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:25 am