First Impressions

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

First Impressions

Postby Ron27 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:20 am

Hi Everyone,
I’m new to AA and have been sober for about a month.
I thought it would be a good idea to write down my first impressions after attending three meetings, whilst fresh in my mind. I hope other newcomers find it useful, that it gives some insight and reflection for the experienced member and that it provides a reflection point for the beginning of my journey with AA.
Over the years I have tried several other methods of overcoming alcoholism, with limited success, including psychotherapy, mindfulness, enneagram etc. Coming to AA I was a sceptical person not long after his last drink. Many will recall the dark place alcoholism takes us, a lonely place where the next drink is the only thing to look forward to until the regret next morning. Withdrawal from society takes its toll and the first meeting I faced with high anxiety and apprehension as well as scepticism supported by some internet negativity.
I have been fortunate to have met many caring people in the three groups and enjoyed the meetings, relating to the ‘sharing’ by those who chose to do so. I was particularly impressed with the emphasis put on making the newcomer feel welcome and really pleased when given the opportunity to say a little about myself, it helped me feel ‘part of’ the group. It was also most considerate to allow me the opportunity of passing on saying anything at all if I wished.