I'm a Noob

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

I'm a Noob

Postby stavros338 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:11 am

Hi there,

I am a 44 yr old school teacher, father of a young autistic son, and type 1 diabetic with about 30 years of regular drinking under my belt. I have tried several times to stop by my own willpower and reason but have never made it past a few weeks. I am at the point now where my addiction to alcohol is endangering my career, marriage, and life (t1 diabetics should NEVER drink the way I do on a pretty regular basis!). I have started listening to an audio version of 'The Big Book', and while I am not ready for a meeting yet, I am wanting to study and pursue this method. Based on what I know of A A, it seems to make good sense to me at this time. I have also fallen far away from any former spiritual life I have attempted to live and feel that this is a good time/way to re-enter it, so to speak.

Any and all suggestions or encouragements are welcome. Thanks for reading!

Steve
stavros338
Forums Newcomer

Re: I'm a Noob

Postby ezdzit247 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:29 am

Hi Steve and welcome.

Glad you found this forum and decided to reach out for help with your drinking problem.

AA has a pamphlet entitled "This is AA - An introduction to the AA recovery program" which will help answer your questions about how the AA program works. You can read it online by clicking on this link:

http://www.aa.org/assets/en_US/p-1_thisisaa1.pdf.

If you want to put the plug in the jug but are having trouble keeping it there and staying sober, here's an excerpt from the pamphlet on AA's 24 hour plan that might be helpful for you: