Scared of admitting to others...

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Scared of admitting to others...

Postby Feeya » Sun May 22, 2016 4:51 am

Hi everyone...
So, I'm new to all of this... and I was wondering how to approach going to a meeting...
Do I just go there? Do I have to call somewhere first? What do I do?
I know this probably sounds redicoulus and weird but I am soooo scared of going to a meeting and admitting that I have a problem... I am scared that people there might think I am weird or different... I don't know...
I've been told to not think about it and just go, but it seems like the scariest thing in the world...

Feeya
One day at a time.
Feeya
Forums Contributor

Re: Scared of admitting to others...

Postby Brock » Sun May 22, 2016 5:47 am

Yes it does seem scary we have all been there. As some were saying on the other thread, you can just go along on your own to one nearest you. Some people phone for assistance and usually someone can come and give you a lift, but I believe it's much better to just go. Some of us are promising certain things here, I believe we can because we have seen it happen so many times, and one promise I can make, is that everyone leaves their first meeting wondering why they were scared in the first place.