Question about being in a group

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.

Question about being in a group

Postby SWIT » Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:17 pm

Hello all,
I am a college student that is majoring in social work. I am also in the processes of working on a minor in addictions as that is the area I want to work in. In one of my classes I am learning about working in groups. Part of the class is about learning about being a member of a group. I wanted to ask anyone that is willing to answer this question. What do you find to be beneficial about being part of the group and how has it helped you? Like I said, I am learning and your answers will help me understand how to work with other members of a group one day when I am out in the field.
thank you!
SWIT
Forums Enthusiast

Re: Question about being in a group

Postby leejosepho » Sun Feb 14, 2016 5:34 pm

Being a member of an A.A. group and being a member of any other kind of group might or might not include the same kinds of opportunities or bring the same results, but giving me a sense of useful and acceptance among non-competitive equals is my own experience...

altruism (noun)
: feelings and behavior that show a desire to help other people and a lack of selfishness
: unselfish regard for or devotion to the welfare of others

SWIT wrote:...how to work with other members of a group...

"...constant thought of others and how we might help meet their needs." ("A.A.", page 20)
=======================
"We A.A.s do not *stay* away from drinking [one day at a
time] -- we *grow* away from drinking [one day at a time]."
("Lois Remembers", page 168, quoting Bill, emphasis added)
=======================
leejosepho
Forums Old Timer

Postby 4thDimension » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:01 pm